Entangled in Alanis

21 Jun

So I had a (legal) listen to Alanis Morissette’s new album Flavours of Entanglement.

It’s better than anything after Jagged Little Pill. Honestly.

She’s still as raw and emotive as ever, but the production is not the barebones approach we’re used to. Not so much draggy lyrics over quiet piano. OK, there are a few tracks of that nature (Not As We) but there’s also the surface lightness of the almost hopeful Incomplete. I like how accessible the album is and yet it still maintains Alanis’s almost blunt but always heartfelt lyrical wording.

My favourite song is the post-breakup song Torch. It’s very much my favourite song on the album. And I feel it more than I should, because I’m still broken up in a way over things I should have let go of by now. I guess that’s what happens when everything reminds you of someone to the point you can’t listen to music, watch a movie, go to the Actor’s Studio, eat bak kut teh without remembering.

The song encapsulates what it’s like to relive everything you’ve been through, even when you don’t want to. It’s like trying to escape smelling like cigarette smoke in a club.

I think it’s karma for all the times I gave guys I know shit for not being over a girl. Well, now I’m feeling the whole can’t-let-go-itis and it’s not fun. And I’m sorry.

Have a listen on YouTube before they yank it off.

I miss your smell and your style and your pure abiding way

Miss your approach to life and your body in my bed

Miss your take on anything and the music you would play

Miss cracking up and wrestling and our debriefs at end of day

These are things that I miss

These are not times for the weak of heart

These are the days of raw despondence

I never dreamed I would have to lay down my torch for you like this

I miss your neck and your gait and your sharing what you write

Miss you walking through the front door, documentaries in your hand

Miss traveling, our traveling, and your fun and charming friends

Miss our baser getaways

And to watch you love my dogs

These are things that I miss

These are not times for the weak of heart

These are the days of raw despondence

I never dreamed I would have to lay down my torch for you like this

One step one prayer I soldier on, simulating moving on

I miss your warmth and the thought of us bringing up our kids

And the part of you that walks with your stick-tied handkerchief

These are things that I miss

These are not times for the weak of heart

These are the days of raw despondence

I never dreamed I would have to lay down my torch for you like this

2 Responses to “Entangled in Alanis”

  1. over_qualified July 7, 2008 at 12:30 am #

    u want torch? try ‘ode’ by padi.

  2. bruno April 12, 2009 at 6:10 am #

    Im a HUGE fan of Alanis, and i think that Torch is the worst song on this amazing album. I hate the chorrus…. i love Straitjacket, Moratorium, Citizen, Giggling… bleh, i LOVE Alanis’ music.

Leave a Reply

