The perils of blogging

1 Aug

I really haven’t been motivated to post much lately. Blogging seems to be a danger to your health, your sanity, your credibility and your reputation. Especially if you move in the cliquish Malaysian blogosphere.

What irks me sometimes is the assumption that just because you read someone’s blog, you know the blogger.

No, you don’t.

A blog shows certain facets of a person. But it’s not an accurate representation of the whole of a person.

Don’t you think a blog could just be an elaborate fabricated facade? The cute, pink, with hearts and bunnies blog template might mask the heart of an evil bunny killer who laughs manically at books like The Bunny Suicides.

OK, the Bunny Suicides makes me laugh maniacally, but that’s besides the point.

It’s just the nature of our blogosphere. We like it. We like playing judge and jury, sentencing virtual strangers to the noose. Giving them neither the benefit of the doubt, nor the ability to defend themselves. And then we laugh at the destruction, we jeer at their anguish, we take pride in their tattered reputations.

Makes me just want to hop over to Livejournal, make all my entries friends-only and never bother making my thoughts or feelings public.

I guess all I can do is stick to what this site’s about. Earnestly saying what I think or feel, and not pander to the circus. It’s annoyed me that I’ve had lurkers visiting in the hope that I will stir some new crap to entertain them with.

Was talking to Irene about it and she agreed that this constant caution, the fear that someone might make too much out of what we post, rather dulls the urge to blog. I’m still here. Still writing. Still caring about what I write. And maybe, just maybe, that’s all that matters.

One Response to “The perils of blogging”

  1. irene August 4, 2008 at 11:01 am #

    I is teh nothing to say anymore, thus not blogging. Wow look! Peaceful cat is peaceful! 😛

Leave a Reply

