I think I'm moving but I go nowhere

2 Sep

ANNOUNCEMENT: Comments are fixed so all you three blog readers of mine can say something already. No registration necessary.

Moving on…

Sometimes I think my job is more trouble than it’s worth. Being constrained by lack of resources i.e. time, money, manpower used to be a challenge that required a lot of creativity to surmount. I like being creative so pain was something I converted into tangible results.

And there are days where I feel I’m locked in a fish tank but expected to swim the length of the Atlantic Ocean.

Life isn’t easy. Work isn’t easy. People sometimes can’t be easy to work with.

I understand now too well why some people escape to Second Life or other fantasy worlds.

Getting money isn’t hard. US$10 gets you $2000 Linden dollars.
Buying land isn’t hard. And an island to yourself won’t set you back more than a couple of thousand dollars.
Getting sex (if you’re so inclined) is as easy as showing up at one of Second Life’s predefined areas. The less said about that, the better.

But the fantasy of getting things easy, or for free, is just that – a fantasy. The things that are worth paying for, living for, dying for usually end up being worth it.

And over the years, my job gives me much less heart or head-ache than it used to. I know just how much to give, and when to cut back. No, I’m not one of those people who will keep saying ‘Oh I’m not being paid for this so I’m not doing this.” But I do make it clear that God, my loved ones (family and friends), and my health (physical and mental wellbeing) will always come first. So if I’m in a position where I’m supposed to sacrifice or hurt any one of those things for my job, I say no. No negotiation. No compromise.

And the result is: no regrets.

One Response to “I think I'm moving but I go nowhere”

  1. davidlian September 2, 2008 at 4:56 pm #

    Hey…I’m one of the three!]
    But back to comments, yes, I agree. God first for me, always. Which is why I know I’ll never go anywhere – not Singapore, not China, not even New York. 🙂

Leave a comment