Nothing fancy, but everything real

20 Oct

Watching Crazy Little Thing called Love last night, one of the songs wouldn’t leave my head.

Found the song on YouTube, and after listening to it in full, I get why I love it so much. Because it reminds me of the way H loves me.

I’d always imagined I’d date someone middle-class with a similar sort of background, similar education, similar family experience but well, I got someone from the other side of the spectrum.

He’s such a simple man that sometimes it exasperates me. And it breaks my heart sometimes when he just admits to me, "Yes, I’m stupid." But I wouldn’t trade him for a man with more brains, or more money.

There’s nothing fancy bout the way I love you,
but I love you as hard as I can.

My first boyfriend said I was neither pretty nor attractive, but there was ‘something there’.

My second boyfriend always joked about how short and dark I was (maybe compared to him – he was very fair and very tall). Once when I wore a dress in a mall, he was all "Looks better than I thought it would".

H tells me I’m beautiful and means it.

H loves that I’m smart, and laughs when I have a temper tantrum.

H gets upset if I don’t correct his English mistakes and won’t stop asking questions about what something means, or how a grammar rule works.

H doesn’t call me fat, and is horrified at the thought of my starving myself to be thinner. He’d rather I just exercise more.

There’s no good reason for the way you love me,
but you’re my walking dream come true.

And when I was having a horrible emo moment on a Saturday moment, he just says, simply, "Why do you worry so much? I think of you of every day…I want you to be happy."

I sometimes think the stupidest thing he’s ever done is to love me, and the smartest thing I ever did was to let him.

There’s no good reason for the way you love me,
But I thank God that you do.

So here’s Dave Barnes’s Nothing Fancy.

There’s nothing fancy bout the way I love you,
there’s nothing you could not find in any other man.
There’s nothing fancy bout the way I love you,
but I love you as hard as I can.
There’s no good reason for the way you love me,
but you’re my walking dream come true.
There’s no good reason for the way you love me,
But I thank God that you do.
I don’t know the perfect conversation,
I don’t know the way to turn a head,
I don’t know the perfect way to prove my love,
But I know I’ll love you till I’m dead.
There’s nothing fancy bout the way I love you,
It’s as simple as the stars in the sky, and the blue in the sea.
There’s nothing fancy bout the way I love you,
But it sure is fancy how you love me.

2 Responses to “Nothing fancy, but everything real”

  1. Will Write For Fun October 20, 2008 at 7:50 pm #

    “I sometimes think the stupidest thing he’s ever done is to love me, and the smartest thing I ever did was to let him.”
    this line evokes the final scene in a romance film:
    – couple on a bench
    – cool weather, almost winter perhaps
    – air’s foggy
    – e-train rumbles by overhead, in the background
    the girl leans in to him the way female leads in romantic flicks do, when they’re sitting on benches with their male leads after the inevitable almost-two-hours of “will they, won’t they” tug-of-love.
    they’re saying things to each other but we aren’t privy to them.
    they smile and their heads loll around because there’s not a care in their world.
    then the somewhat whimsical, embattled-but-wiser-for-the-experience voice of the heroine comes in with the final bit of narration:
    “I sometimes think…”
    then the credits roll as ironic music rises and we pick up our bags of movie-snack remains, if we are conscientious, and make our way to the car as guy says to girl, “I liked her better in Transformers“.

  2. Erna October 20, 2008 at 11:24 pm #

    *falls over laughing*
    Oh you sooo made my day with that one XD

Leave a Reply

