Grooming, girls, grooming!

25 Oct

warpaint

Irene and me get on well most times, but on one position we tend to differ – makeup.

I insist it’s necessary and she chants the mantra “Bare face! Bare face!” like a war cry.

No, I don’t believe that we have to spend money on pricey creams by La Prairie or wear designer togs all the time. But there’s nothing wrong with putting a little effort into your appearance.

It always shows and people are almost always appreciative. Have given up on my hair because no matter what I do or try, it always ends up looking bedraggled anyway. So I adopt bedroom hair or messy, tousled waves because I don’t have the time to blowdry my stubborn hair into a semblance of normalcy.

But I do try and take some effort with the face. The picture in this post isn’t my forcing my less-than-perfect mug on you but to announce my new Holy Grail – mineral makeup. I blame Beatrice.

Tried Body Shop’s range and I love the colours…but not their staying power. So I ordered samples from LovingMinerals.com, who stock the affordable and much praised Lumiere mineral makeup line. That’s me after trying on their foundation, Silk Veil, Sundew radiance and a hint of blush. It took me less than 5 minutes to sweep the minerals on and it definitely looks more natural than my attempts with liquid foundation. I don’t look too madeup and I don’t look like the corpse that woke up this morning. Powder foundation always tends to look chalky on me and besides Bobbi Brown, few brands stock colours that look good on me. And Bobbi Brown is super-expensive…though its cream concealer is probably the best thing ever invented.

Curious about mineral makeup? Definitely try LovingMinerals – service is speedy and you get free delivery for purchases exceeding RM100. I advise buying the sample sets first so you make sure you get the right shades and there’s enough in the pots for you to play with until you’re absolutely sure you can’t live without mineral makeup.

And to learn how to apply it – I suggest YouTube and searching for “applying mineral foundation”. Worked for me!

One Response to “Grooming, girls, grooming!”

  1. irene October 25, 2008 at 11:57 pm #

    Oi! Not “bare face”, “NAKED FACE”!!!
    😛

Leave a Reply

