Monday Music: Orphans of God

8 Dec

So it’s the end of the year, and I find myself joining some of my favourite people in the world to cheer hearts and souls with song.

It’s given me a chance to share with them, and hopefully other people, Avalon’s song Orphans of God. It helped me get through some of the darkest times last year, with lyrics that have reminded me time and time again that I will always find acceptance in God’s love. One of my struggles over the years is coping with rejection, either perceived or actual.

It’s easy to take things personally and feel not good enough for anything, or anybody. We are born with the innate desire for a love so unconditional that it will look past our failings, craving for the kind of acceptance that embraces everything we are.

When we look for it from other people, we are usually disappointed. Because often even our loved ones look at us through a lens of expectations. “If you loved me, you would…”, “If I was good enough, you would…” I’ve been blessed enough to have had paternal grandparents who loved me with a love so fierce that their passing truly made me realise just how much their love illuminated my childhood. But even from the grave, my grandmother left vestiges of her love, reminders that I am always, always loved. Love never does leave you…you just need to remember that it is there.

“We love because He first loved us.” And I’m relearning that lesson everyday. And I abjure those who read this to believe, and trust in the love that never fails, never judges, never leaves us.

 

Orphans of God ~ Avalon

Who here among us has not been broken?
Who here among us is without grief or pain?
So oft abandoned by our transgressions
If such a thing as grace exists
Then grace was made for lives like this

There are no strangers
There are no outcasts
There are no orphans of God
So many fallen, but hallelujah
There are no orphans of God

Come ye unwanted and find affection
Come all ye weary, come and lay down your head
Come ye unworthy, you are my brother
If such a thing as grace exists
Then grace was made for lives like this

O blessed Father, look down upon us
We are Your children, we need Your love
We run before Your throne of mercy
And seek Your face to rise above

Technorati Tags: ,
Leave a Reply

