He speaks to me like a lover

14 Dec

I sometimes think that the depressing turbulence in my romantic life is just a means for God to sneakily claim a sturdier place in my heart. His ‘wooing’ is rather effective, though, and He puts His points across so well, I feel like just running off into the wilderness, forsaking Man and all men. To commune with Him and depend on nothing more but His grace and His mercy.

I want to run away with God. Scary, isn’t it?

But it’s hard to resist when I hear these whispers..

I know you.

I am here for you.

I will not be distant from you, and will be as close to you as you want me to be.

I will not lie to you.

I will not abandon you for another.

I will be your confidante, your secrets I will not reveal.

I will listen and not judge.

I will not shy from your pain or anger.

I will not hurt you the way men will, though they cannot help it because it is their nature to wound. Their love is imperfect, because they are.

I will not spurn your affection.

I will protect you.

I will not make you feel unworthy.

My love will be enough for you, my grace sufficient to last you the rest of your days.

I do love you.

Leave a Reply

