Monday Music: Brokenhearted ~ Wanya Morris/Brandy

15 Dec

I miss 90s R&B. When Boyz II Men still hummed their ways into our minds on the radio, Jodeci still mixed bad boy style with sensitivity and you didn’t hear Rihanna every frickin’ day.

One of my favourite tracks of those times was a lesser-known duet by Boyz II Men, Wanya Morris, and the then up-and-coming starlet Brandy. Brokenhearted was a sweet duet, which mixed bittersweet reminiscing and hopefulness after the end of a relationship. A far cry from the usual “I’ll die without you if you leave me please don’t go” genre of breakup songs.

The lovers in the song speak candidly about their grief for the ending, but still try to find some solace in friendship. It’s rather novel to me because I’ve never been able to be friends with my exes.

Only brokenhearted, life’s not over
I can start again
…”

It’s a hopeful way to start the week, though my heart still feels scarred over from the events of the past few months. But good comes with the bad. After weeks of working on my week middle range, I’ve finally solved one problem area and finally know how the whole Italian ‘inner smile’ works. It just happened, the note just came and it was just so freeing emotionally to be able to sing happily without fear, in my upper range, without chickening out into head voice.

My voice is ‘heavy’ with a stupidly large range – which means 15 minutes a day won’t cut it, so I have to spend a longer time exercising it. Singing every note in a 2.5 octave range gets very tiresome, very quickly. And the entire range sounds very different – down in chest voice I’m very husky while all the way in head the notes sound airy-fairy. Pretty but just…too much of a contrast.

Also heard from my father and the Norwegian – which brightened up my evening as well. It’s nice to know people are thinking of you from across the miles, and just making sure you’re OK. Opening yourself up to people leaves you wide open to pain and heartache; but it also allows you to embrace all the love the world has to offer. So I’ll take the occasional broken heart over closing myself up to the world.

Only brokenhearted, life’s not over
I can start again
While I’m lonely, brokenhearted
Its a hurting, thing to get over

Why don’t you tell me about it?

I’m young but I’m wise enough to know
That you don’t fall in love overnight
That’s why I thought if I took my time
That everything in love would be right
Oh, oh
But as soon as I closed my eyes
I was saying to love “good-bye”
Chorus:
But I guess I’m only… brokenhearted
Life’s not over I can start again
While I’m lonely brokenhearted

Its a hurting thing to get over
No more empty conversations
Next time I will be totally sure, oh
Don’t want the pain of falling in and out of love
Its more than my poor heart should endure
Bridge:
So I’ll listen to all advice
And remember each time I cry
Chorus
Da, da, da, da, da-ha whoa..
Bridge
Chorus
Think about you all the time
Bridge 2:
Never thought I’d be alone again
That’s why I asked you to be my best friend
You know you’re always on my mind
Think about you all the time
You know what I’m saying?
Oh baby

Leave a Reply

