Music to one of the greatest stories ever told

20 Dec

Was bitterly disappointed when I found out about the LOTR Symphony at the MPO too late to get tickets. But as luck would have it, a friend of mine had spare tickets to the open rehearsal where I would at least see the symphony conducted.

I was also surprised that soprano Ann De Renais would be a soloist. I hear her voice everyday – she’s the voice on my David Jones vocal CDs. She did a wonderful job on Gollum’s song, but when she closed the show with her rendition of Into the West I was in tears.

Tonight and tomorrow, Malaysians will be able to see the full performance of Howard Shore’s composition at the MPO. Though I’m a wee bit envious, I still got to see the MPO play and Ann De Renais sing, so I’ll be happy with my lot. Better than not being able to hear/see it at all.

All things considered, I’m still a very lucky girl.

My favourite parts had to be the Rohirrim themes, as well as Ann’s solos. It made me want to go back and reread the books, as well as watch the films. It’s been a year since I’ve read Tolkien. I suppose it’s time to revisit Middle-Earth and the story that’s inspired me with its themes of love, friendship, loyalty, honour and hope. Narnia, seriously, had nothing on it, as I found C.S. Lewis’s utter lack of compassion for his own characters as nothing more to push his ‘Godly’ message distasteful. If God were to see us as nothing more but pawns in His divine game, then life really would be meaningless.

One Response to “Music to one of the greatest stories ever told”

  1. Yin December 20, 2008 at 12:47 pm #

    Was pleasantly surprised to see you yesterday morning. So glad you could make it 🙂

Leave a Reply

