The awesomeness that is David Phelps

3 Jan

Formerly of Southern Gospel group Gaither Vocal Band, David Phelps went solo and has recently released an album of secular covers.

But I think the man’s real heart and soul lie in spiritual songs as can be evidenced in this song:

It’s the well-known hymn, O Love That Will Not Let Me Go and he does a rendition of it that makes his audience weep. It’s a very controlled, nuanced performance where usually he makes a lot of his exceptional range.

The song is comfort on this dark night as I despair yet again. I’m so tired, sometimes. Of somehow managing to make most of my life work, but where my relationships are concerned I have no power at all. I can’t choose who I love, when I love or how the course of my relationships go.

I want the whole, simple, wham, bam, end of story, uncomplicated arrangement. “But you wouldn’t be happy with simple, Jeeq,” is what my friend Elizabeth (Jay to me) said. And men who can’t commit/are undecisive/who appreciate me only when I dump their sorry arses makes me happy? No.

What good is my capacity for empathy, compassion and devotion is when it always ends up with my being tired, brokenhearted and despondent? Not to mention an annoying bugger who is lonely and just wants a bedwarmer keeps messaging/calling me all the time. I know him too well. I know he’s just no longer the serial woman puller he used to be, and thinks I am easy prey. That he’s finally tired of sowing his oats and wants the comfort of familiarity.

I just want him to go away. He had his chance 5 years ago, and he squandered it. At least, all my pain’s taught me that some things are definitely not worth it.

O love that will not let me go
I rest my weary soul in thee
I give thee back the life I owe
That in thine oceans depths its flow
May richer, fuller be
O light that foll’west all my way
I yield my flickering torch to thee
My heart restores its borrowed ray
That in thy sunshine’s blaze its day
May brighter, fairer be
O joy that seekest me through pain
I cannot close my heart to thee
I trace the rainbow through the rain
And feel the promise is not vain
That morn shall tearless be

Leave a Reply

