With rose tinted glasses, she could only see love

26 Jul

I heard of Yasmin Ahmad’s passing while I was learning a song, and checking my Tweets ever so often.

My Twitter feed was littered with tributes. The sadness was palpable. We’d lost someone inspiring, who’d touched so many people with her stories and her genuine warmth.

I ended up doing a mashup of the hymn I was listening to as tribute. Because I have no words left to describe the force of nature Yasmin Ahmad was. So many deaths of icons this year and Yasmin was our dreamer and storyteller.

We’ll miss you so much. RIP. Al-Fatihah.

(Lyrics mashed up without mercy from the old Lutheran hymn, Be Still, My Soul)

Be still, my soul:
when dearest friends depart,
And all is darkened
in the vale of tears,
Then shalt thou better know
His love, His heart,
Who comes to soothe
thy sorrow and thy fears.
Be still, my soul:
when change and tears are past,
All safe and blessed
we shall meet at last.

One Response to “With rose tinted glasses, she could only see love”

  1. Friedbeef July 26, 2009 at 6:24 am #

    *sigh*… she will be missed.

Leave a Reply

