My dad is my personal Chuck Norris

11 Aug

After two weeks of happily bumming around and having faith that God would provide, I got a job.

Starting Monday, I’m joining the alternative press. I texted my dad about my leaving PR and jokingly added “I’ll try not to get arrested.” He texted me back and his SMS reply was so made of win, two of my straight male friends declared they want to marry him.

My father said:

“Well, people don’t see the same truths most of the time. But freedom is the foundation of a civil society. You should strive for a higher calling, not mere dust of history. Good luck and god bless….”

I think I almost cried.

It wasn’t always easy being my father’s daughter. Growing up, I found him stern and distant. But I loved him. I was my father’s daughter and I aspired to his ideals. He has the most moral integrity of any man I know. Once, he had to choose between compromising his moral standards or losing his job. He chose to resign rather than feed his children with ill-gotten gains. Always he chose the high road.

It’s hard, sometimes, having a father like that because the men I meet just don’t measure up. I don’t want them rich, successful or handsome. I want them good, honourable, truthful and courageous. I want to know that they would fight for what is good and true, even if it meant I would play second fiddle to the community or the higher good.

My father’s also done something few people are willing to do. He became a better man not just for himself, but the people he loved. He became a better husband and a better father. For love.

On my 25th birthday, he told me “No matter what happens, or what you do, you will always have my love.” That was my best birthday present. Ever.

For more gushing about my father, here again is the tribute I wrote to him for his birthday.

You’ll always be my hero, Pa

I am my father’s daughter. And that is all I aspire to be.

2 Responses to “My dad is my personal Chuck Norris”

  1. Michelle Ho August 11, 2009 at 6:48 am #

    It’s plain to see just how proud you are of him, and in his own way, just how much he loves you. Makes me smile at the thought of my own dad, who shares your father’s view on striving toward a higher calling. Aren’t we blessed to get reminders like that from within the family, not just from external sources?

  2. Andre Reutens August 11, 2009 at 10:49 am #

    Oh my, having read what you gushed about your Dad made me reminisce about mine (God bless his soul, may he rest in peace) – Especially this part, that struck me : “Once, he had to choose between compromising his moral standards or losing his job. He chose to resign rather than feed his children with ill-gotten gains. Always he chose the high road.” – Yeah, a similar crossroad that my Dad had to deal with too. Are there many Dad’s out there like ours I wonder?

    Ok, anyway, here’s wishing you all the best on your new and challenging endeavor.

    God bless.

Leave a Reply

